About University



Mother Teresa Women’s University (MTWU), the only Women’s University of Tamil Nadu State government, situated at Attuvampatti, Kodaikanal hills, started in 1984 by the enactment of Tamil Nadu Act 15. The foundation stone was laid by the Noble Laureate Mother Teresa. The University’s Vision is to “Empower Women through Education”. The University has its Research and Extension centres at Chennai, Madurai and Coimbatore. The centre for Women Studies is situated at Pallapatti. This University offers PG courses (M.A., M.Com., M.Ed., M.B.A., M.Sc., M.Phil) and Ph.D. level courses in Arts and Sciences. As an affiliating University, it offers UG, PG, M.Phil., Ph.D. degrees to the women institutions in Dindugul and Theni districts. MTWU offers B.Ed. programme through its constituent college in Ananthagiri campus, Kodaikanal. It also offers distance education programmes in Arts and Science. Mother Teresa Women’s University strives for quality education, academic excellence and personality development. MTWU houses a Tamil Nadu Common Wealth Mother Teresa Women’s University International centre to offer international education for women candidates. University has received research funding from UGC, DST, TANSCHE, SAP, CURIE and ICSSR. University has very good  infrastructure, transport and excellent international ladies hostel, indoor sports stadium, digital library, well equipped laboratories and well qualified faculty members. University pursues State of Art research to reach the global standards of excellence.